CHSAA Announces Hall of Fame Class of 2022


The Colorado High School Activities Association Hall of Fame has announced its 34th Hall of Fame class. This group of seven members embodies the fundamental values ​​of the Association as well as its vision of striving for excellence in studies, activities and sports. Each of these individuals champions the very essence of participation in educational activities.

The CHSAA Hall of Fame Class of 2022 includes five legendary coaches in Sally Moos (Cherry Creek), Tim Ottmann (Ponderosa), Rene Aafedt (Valley), George Rykovich (Manitou Springs) and James Hartman, Jr. (Mitchell). We also look forward to inducting student leadership advisor Dale Garland (Durango) and rounding out this year’s class with Ann Strother Abromaitis (Highlands Ranch), one of the most decorated female basketball players in history. of our state.

Biographies of the most recent additions to the CHSAA Hall of Fame include:

Sally Moos (Cherry Creek) – For 35 years, Sally Moos coached girls volleyball at Cherry Creek High School. During that time, Sally amassed 734 wins, including a 42-game winning streak, 13 Centennial League championships and five CHSAA Class 5A Women’s Volleyball State Championships. While Moos is credited with creating a winning culture, her players mostly remember her as someone who put relationship building ahead of winning.

Tim Ottmann (Ponderosa) – Ottmann served for 18 years as the school’s wrestling coach. His overall school record is 147-19 (200-26 overall), having won sixteen consecutive Continental League Wrestling Championships, coaching twelve 5A Regional Wrestling Champions and eight 5A State Wrestling Champions. Ottmann was named NFHS National Wrestling Coach of the Year (2009), National Wrestling Association Region 6 Coach of the Year (1997 and 2005), and was recognized as Coach of the Year 13 times. of the Continental League.

René Aafedt (Valley) – Aafedt, who coached the women’s volleyball program at Valley High School for 20 years, has a career record of 393-96. Her teams have appeared in nine CHSAA Class 3A state championship games, including 13 consecutive state tournament appearances, winning all in 2010 and 2012. As a competitive Valley High School volleyball player herself, Aafedt brought the same energy and drive as a coach. As one of his former players said, “Playing under Rene Aafedt, I think it was the greatest honor I could have as an athlete. I look up to him and I wouldn’t be the person what I am today without it.

George Rykovitch (Manitou Springs) – As a coach, George Rykovich was determined to make his athletes the best people possible. He believed in the correlation between energy production and desired results. There were no shortcuts to success in his program. In his 36 years as head coach, he guided the Mustangs to two CHSAA Class 2A Football State Championships. His one-wing attack was well-known but rarely beaten, and even in retirement he is called upon by coaches across the country to share that tried-and-true style of play. George has been inducted into the CHSCA Hall of Fame, the Colorado Springs Sports Hall of Fame and the Single Wing Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

James Hartman, Jr. (Mitchell) – James Hartman, Jr., is a name synonymous with football at Mitchell High School. Hartman won 211 games during his 18 years as head coach. During that time, he won 10 conference titles and three CHSAA Class AAA state championships. Hartman Jr., was a four-time recipient of the CHSCA Football Coach of the Year Award, a five-time recipient of the Gazette Telegraph Football Coach of the Year Award, and has since been inducted into the CHSCA Hall of Fame and Colorado. Springs Sports Corp Hall of Fame.

Dale Garland (Durango) – As a student leadership advisor, Garland set the standard for how to train young leaders. For more than a decade, Dale’s program has been recognized as a National Council of Excellence by the National Council of Students office. This recognition is reserved for student leadership programs that meet specific criteria related to excellence in leadership, service, and commitment to their school community. During his 25 years as a counselor, Dale was recognized as CHSAA’s Counselor of the Year, served multiple terms as a member of the Student Leadership Advisory Committee, and led workshops at numerous CHSAA student leadership camps and conferences.

Ann Strother Abromaitis (Highlands Ranch) – Ann is a 2002 graduate of Highlands Ranch High School, where she was a two-time CHSAA 5A Women’s Basketball State Champion. While at Highlands Ranch, Ann was named National Naismith Player of the Year and National Gatorade Player of the Year. She played in the first McDonald’s All-American Game, where she was named co-MVP. Ann was the second high school girl in USA Basketball history to play for the Junior World Championship team. Ann earned a scholarship to the University of Connecticut, where she guided the program to two NCAA national championships. During her time at UConn, Ann played in 143 games, starting with 142 of them. Ann was drafted into the WNBA by the Houston Comets.

“I applaud the efforts of the selection committee as this is an outstanding list of deserving recipients,” said CHSAA Commissioner Michael Krueger. athletics and educational activities; the Hall of Fame Class of 2022 reflects that same level of exceptional achievement. »

The Hall of Fame selection committee includes Robert Marken (CHSCA), Stephanie Leasure (Doherty), Kevin McWain (Severance), Robert Framel (Kit Carson), Dr. Tracy Hill (CHSAA Hall of Fame inductee), Adria Herscher (Overland), Dick Katte (advisor) and Dan Mohrmann (Colorado Preps/Mile High Sports). The committee also includes four student leadership representatives – Brakelle Westphal (Springfield), Sydney Crouthers (Eaglecrest), Anna Winn (Fort Collins) and Kat Tomin (Highlands Ranch).

“The selection process is something I look forward to every year,” said CHSAA Assistant Commissioner Rashaan Davis, who oversees the Hall of Fame. “To talk about how each nominee reached the highest level, how they worked hand in hand with other students and/or adults for the betterment of a school community, and how their vision of success is become is a testimony of what educational activities can produce.

The class of 2022 will be inducted at a ceremony on Monday, January 23, 2023.

Source link